The Biblical Way of the Cross

The Traditional Stations of the Cross have long been celebrated in many forms with the 14 Stations familiar to us a relatively recent form. Several of the stations arise from long-held traditions among the Christians of the Holy Land, but they are not necessarily Scriptural. In 1991, Pope John Paul II instituted a form of the Stations that are based solely on Scripture. This too forms a wonderful means of reflecting upon the events of the Holy Week which put the love of Christ in the forefront of our hearts and minds.

 1. Jesus on the Mount of Olives (Luke 22:39-46)
 2. Jesus, betrayed by Judas, is arrested (Luke 22:47-48)
 3. Jesus is condemned by the Sanhedrin (Luke 22:66-71)
 4. Peter denies Jesus (Luke 22:54-62)
1. Jesus is condemned to death5. Jesus is judged by Pilate (Luke 23:13-25)
 6. Jesus is scourged and crowned with thorns (Luke 22:63-64; John 19:2-3)
2. Jesus takes up his cross7. Jesus takes up his cross (Mark 15:20)
3. Jesus falls for the first time 
4. Jesus meets his mother 
5. Jesus is helped by Simon the Cyrene to carry his cross.8. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry his cross (Luke 23:26)
6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus 
7. Jesus falls for the second time 
8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem9. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem (Luke 23:27-31)
9. Jesus falls a third time 
10. Jesus is stripped of his garments 
11. Jesus is nailed to the cross10. Jesus is crucified (Luke 23:33, 47)
 11. Jesus promises his kingdom to the good thief (Luke 23:33-34, 39-43)
 12. Jesus on the cross, his mother and his disciples (John 19:25-27)
12. Jesus dies on the cross13. Jesus dies on the cross (Luke 23:44-46)
13. Jesus is taken down from the cross and given to his mother 
14. Jesus is laid in the tomb14. Jesus is placed in the tomb (Luke 23:50-54)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.